About Candace Hansen-Hendrikx

This author has not yet filled in any details.
So far Candace Hansen-Hendrikx has created 85 blog entries.

Scientists seek urgent action on impacts of climate change on reptiles and amphibians

2020-01-22T13:40:21-05:00January 17th, 2020|Latest News|

World leaders in reptile and amphibian research say there is an urgent international need to acknowledge the evidence for global climate change and take immediate action to help save these vulnerable animals.

The Aotearoa Climate Change Declaration was announced at the 9th World Congress of Herpetology (the study of the […]

A year in review for ZSL

2019-12-14T07:09:42-05:00December 14th, 2019|Latest News, Partner Updates|

ZSL’s Amphibian Thematic Group has had a busy year. In April, ZSL hosted a symposium which approached chytrid fungi and ranaviruses as a combined threat to amphibians. Researchers and on-the-ground conservationists outlined the issues and reported on the outcomes of field mitigations and went on to develop strategies for combating rapidly […]

Papua New Guinea’s first public display for native frogs

2019-12-14T07:07:44-05:00December 14th, 2019|Latest News, Partner Updates|

The first phase of on-ground work to strengthen a secure future for Papua New Guinea frogs was recently completed at the Port Moresby Nature Park. Part of a larger, long-term strategy to mitigate the likely impacts of the Amphibian Chytrid Fungus on PNG frogs, the project has seen the country’s […]

Saving the Intermediate Puddle Frog

2019-12-14T07:08:12-05:00December 13th, 2019|Latest News, Partner Updates|

SAVE THE FROGS! Ghana (STF! Ghana) is dedicating hundreds of working hours in search of one of West Africa’s rarest frogs, the critically endangered Intermediate Puddle Frog (Phrynobatrachus intermedius) at south-western Ghana’s Ankasa Conservation Area, it’s only known home. Since its discovery of three individuals in 2001, there have not […]

FOUND: Lost Starry Night Harlequin Toad Makes Radiant Return to Science

2019-12-12T03:53:29-05:00December 12th, 2019|Latest News, Partner Updates|

 ‘Rediscovery’ Highlights Integral Role of Indigenous Peoples’ Knowledge and Traditions in Wildlife Protection

For the first time since 1994, biologists have documented the stunning black-and-white-spotted starry night harlequin toad (Atelopus aryescue). The photo documentation is the result of a unique and poignant partnership between Global Wildlife Conservation partner Fundación […]