Amphibian Red List Authority

The Amphibian Red List Authority (ARLA) is the branch of the Amphibian Specialist Group (ASG) responsible for maintaining the amphibian extinction risk assessments on The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species. Drawing on the expertise of the global ASG network, we are committed to assessing the conservation status of every amphibian species in the world.

Find a Species on the IUCN Red List!

The current priority of the ARLA is to complete the Second Global Amphibian Assessment (GAA2) by December 2018. There is a lot of activity right now – both in the Central Coordination Team and in Regional Working Groups around the world – so stay tuned!

Described species: 7,728

Species on the IUCN Red List: 6,582

Species to re-assess: 4,921  (74% last assessed in 2004)

Species to assess for the first time: 1,146

Updated 13 November 2017