The Amphibian Specialist Group is a volunteer network of more than 500 expert members. These volunteer members contribute a wide range of expertise to the group, making the ASG the global authority on amphibian research and conservation.

Zones, Regions and Countries

The Amphibian Specialist Group is subdivided into a number of smaller geographical groups representing either a country or region. Each of these groups plays an important role in helping to implement the aims of the ASG. Regional and Country ASGs are an important contact point for researchers, conservation organizations and local governments. Regional/Country ASG groups consist of a Chair who is the main contact point for that group and Members who are recognized as amphibian experts within that region. Additional roles such as Secretary also exist in some groups. The appointing of members to Regional or Country ASG is undertaken through nomination by the Chair of that area. An individual’s nomination to the ASG will then be based on his/her interest in being part of the ASG, their willingness to contribute to the group and the ASG mission, and their expertise within the amphibian community. As within any such organization, diversity of expertise is a benefit and for that reason the nomination of seasoned herpetologists through to early stage students are actively encouraged. The ASG is not an exclusive group, however a certain level of expertise is required in order to ensure that the group maintains its role as an advisory authority in the field of amphibian conservation.

For questions regarding specific countries or regions please contact us at:

Country or RegionConstitutionChair(s)ARLA Regional Coordinator(s)
North and Central America and the Caribbean
CanadaCanadaKristiina Ovaska and Sara Ashpole
CaribbeanCaribbean islands bound by the Gulf of Mexico, North American mainland, eastern Central America, and northern South AmericaTBD
Costa RicaCosta RicaGerardo Chaves
El SalvadorEl SalvadorFrancisco Samuel Álvarez Calderón
Guatemala and BelizeGuatemala and BelizeCarlos Vasquez
HondurasHondurasJonathan Kolby
MexicoMexicoGabriela Parra-Olea
NicaraguaNicaraguaSilvia Robleto and Allan Gutierrez
PanamaPanamaRoberto Ibáñez
United StatesUnited StatesDede Olson
South America
ArgentinaArgentinaEsteban LavillaMarcos Vaira
BoliviaBoliviaClaudia Cortez and Arturo Muñoz
BrazilBrazilDebora Silvano and Cybele Lisboa
ChileChileClaudio Soto Azat and Juan Carlos Ortiz
ColombiaColombiaNicolas Urbina-Cardona and Vicky Flechas
EcuadorEcuadorAndres Merino-ViteriDiego Cisneros-Heredia
Guiana ShieldGuyana, Suriname, French Guiana, northwestern Brazil and southeastern Venezuela Philippe KokAntoine Fouquet
PeruPeruGiussepe Gagliardi and Ariadne AnguloAlessadro Catenazzi and Rudolf von May
UruguayUruguayJose Langone
VenezuelaVenezuelaCelsa Señaris and Margarita Lampo
Europe, North Africa and West Asia
EuropeWesternmost Eurasia, bound by the Arctic Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, the Mediterranean Sea, and the watersheds of the Ural and Caucasus Mountains, the Ural River, the Caspian and Black Seas, and the waterways of the Turkish StraitsTBDJelka Crnobrnja-Isailovic
North AfricaAlgeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan and TunisiaTahar Slimani
West AsiaTurkey, the Levant countries, Iraq, Iran, Kuwait, and the Arabian peninsulaPritpal “Micky” Soorae and Uğur KayaUğur Kaya
Sub-Saharan Africa
East AfricaTanzania, Kenya, Somalia, Ethiopia, Djibouti, Eritrea, South Sudan, Uganda, Rwanda and BurundiVictor Wasonga and Simon Loader
MadagascarMadagascarFranco Andreone and Andolalao Rakotoarison
Southern AfricaLesotho, South Africa, Namibia, Mozambique, Botswana, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Angola and MalawiTBD
West AfricaSenegal in the East and North to Nigeria in the EastN'goran Kouamé
Central AfricaCameroon, both Congos, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon and Central African RepublicLegrand Nono Gonwouo
Mainland Asia
ChinaChinaJiang Jian-Ping
Mainland S. East AsiaCambodia, Laos, Myanmar (Burma), Thailand, Vietnam and West MalaysiaJodi RowleyJodi Rowley
Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) and MongoliaRussia, Mongolia, Kazakhstan and BelarusSergius Kuzmin
South Asia (minus Sri Lanka)Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal and PakistanKarthik Vasudevan and Sanjay Molur
Sri LankaSri LankaAnslem de Silva and Madhava Meegaskumbura
Maritime Southeast Asia and Oceania
AustraliaAustraliaJean-Marc Hero
IndonesiaIndonesiaTBDMirza Kursini
MalaysiaMalaysiaChan Kinn Onn
MelanesiaVanuatu, the Solomon Islands, Fiji, Papua New Guinea, New Caledonia, West Papua and Maluku Islands Stephen RichardsStephen Richards
New ZealandNew ZealandPhil Bishop
PhilippinesPhilippinesArvin Diesmos
SingaporeSingaporeLeong Tzi Ming